Two

“Nothing else wounds so deeply and irreparably. Nothing else robs us of hope so much as being unloved by the one we love”

I loved you – passionate as a first love -sacrificial as a mother’s love – hopeless as a lost love. My heart ached for that fleeting shadow of your love that arrived but once in a blue moon. Your passing promises healed me just as soon as they left, carving into my open wounds. I bled within, as you only became dearer to my heart, but dangerous to my existence. In anguish, I prayed knowing all I can do is done. And then she came, they all did; I understood my presence to you was merely a trifle. In your poorly masked justifications you laid bare that which I refused to see. In your world I was no one, and yet, I held on – lest if I snap the strings that keep me alive.

Leave a comment